The beautiful white church now known as Founders Chapel was originally built upon the banks of the Brazos River. Conveniently located off Highway 377 in Cresson, Texas, the chapel is also a registered Texas Historical Marker (#1204).
N.M. Dennis moved to Parker County from Boston, Massachusetts, in the 1890s and established Dennis Community on the Brazos River (12 miles southwest). This sanctuary, originally located on land he donated to members of the Dennis Methodist Church, was constructed there in 1907. Church activities were important events in the community. Revivals were conducted each summer in a tabernacle adjacent to the chapel. A “dinner on the grounds” and an afternoon of singing and fellowship often followed Sunday services. The congregation welcomed new pastors and their families with a party in their honor. Called, “poundings” because members brought gifts of food, usually in one pound amounts, the celebrations were held at the church parsonage in Weatherford. The population of Dennis started to decline in the 1960s. As people moved from the area, church membership also dropped and the congregation was disbanded in June 1970. The Texas Refinery Corporation of Fort Worth bought the building in 1976 and moved it to this site. It was renamed Founder’s Chapel in honor of A.M. Pate, Sr. and Carl Wollner, organizers of the company. (1980) – Texas Historical Commission
After being relocated to the site of the former Pate Museum in Cresson, Texas, it stood as part of the museum for almost 40 years. In recent years, the museum closed its doors and the buildings now serve as headquarters for The Outdoor Trading Company. The property also boasts a 6,000 square foot reception hall with a stage, wet bar, and lots of room for dancing.